• Blast from the past
  • Blast from the past

Today ICC launched the next edition of the ICC World Twenty20 event to be hosted in India in 2016, with a total of 35 men's matches and 23 women's matches, staged across eight venues from 8th March to 3rd April 2016. We look back to when the twenty20 format started...

Twenty20 cricket was originally introduced by the England and Wales Cricket Board in 2003. We worked closely with both ECB and sports marketing agency WSM (now part of Corbis) to develop the event brand for a new, fast and exciting format of the game which has since taken the cricketing world by storm.

Since its inception the game has been very successful resulting in its spread around the cricket world. On most international tours there is at least one Twenty20 match and all Test-playing nations have a domestic cup competition.

Since the introduction of a world event by the ICC, Tobasgo has worked on every World T20 event since the first edition in South Africa in 2007 , where India won by five runs against Pakistan in the final. Pakistan won the second tournament in 2009 – and you can see the scope for this project in our case studies section here.

England won the title in the Caribbean in 2010 – (our MD won’t forget the helicopter transfer with Kevin Pietersen). Sri Lanka are the reigning champions after winning the 2014 competition, beating India by 6 wickets.

We’re looking forward to the next ICC World T20 India 2016 – and great to have been part of this cricket event from the very beginning!